Albany Law School announces new chairman – New York News

ALBANY — Albany Law School announced Monday that James E. Hacker, class of 1984, has been named the new chair of the law school’s board of trustees.

His term began July 1. The board also recently welcomed three new members: Jeanine Arden Ornt and Kathryn L. Tabner as term trustees, and Sydney Taylor as student trustee.

“An Albany Law School education has always been worth the investment and still is today,” Hacker said in a prepared statement. “First and foremost, we will continue to focus on providing high-quality legal training, which is the foundation on which the law school rests.”

Hacker succeeds Daniel P. Nolan, class of 1978, who was appointed four years ago and oversaw the transition in leadership to President and Dean Alicia Ouellette and the law school’s formal affiliation with the University at Albany in 2015. In the final year of Nolan’s tenure, 90 percent of the class of 2016 secured employment after graduation, and bar passage leaped 14.5 percentage points, raising Albany Law School above the state average.

Hacker is a managing partner of E. Stewart Jones Hacker Murphy LLP, where he divides his practice between the areas of commercial litigation and plaintiff’s personal injury. He also currently serves as president of the Albany County Bar Association and regional vice president of the New York State Trial Lawyers Albany. He is a graduate of Hamilton College and Albany Law School.

Albany Law School is a private school founded in 1851. It has an affiliation agreement with University at Albany that includes shared programs and access for students and faculty to learn from one…

click here to read more.

New York News
No Comment

Leave a Reply